Hornsey Historical Society
We are a Charity with about 450 members and the Society covers the history of the old Parish and Borough of Hornsey, now part of the west side of Haringey, North London. Our area includes Hornsey Village; Crouch End; Muswell Hill; some of Highgate; Stroud Green; Harringay; Bounds Green and Wood Green.
Our collection is not yet digitised, but can be consulted at our HQ.
We hold bound copies of the local newspaper, The Hornsey Journal, from 1880 – 1970. We also have a very varied collection, including old books and our published books; deeds; diaries; maps; memories; postcards; photographs and anything related to Hornsey’s history. We hold the North Middlesex Photographic Society’s collection of photos of places in Middlesex, and these are being digitised.
It is a small collection, but has unique items which mainly cover the 1880s onwards. We have a catalogue on computer at our HQ and can answer queries by email, post or personal visit. Our HQ was originally built as a National School in 1848.